The Tide Turns When You’re Not Watching

Lessons from parenting, teaching, and becoming an ‘author’

Ranjani Rao
6 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Photo by Sean Stratton on Unsplash

“Time moves slowly, but passes quickly” ~ Alice Walker

You don’t know how quickly time flies, even though you hear about it often. One moment you are the child, the student, the amateur, and in a blink of an eye (or so it seems), you find yourself on the other side — the parent, the teacher, the experienced amateur (if not a professional).

The past year has been filled with epiphanies about time, about purpose and about where next to take my writing journey.

From child to parent

I thought about my mother last month when my daughter arrived from America with two suitcases. It was her first trip back home after moving to California to pursue her Master’s degree. She was thin and jetlagged, tired but happy to be home. I remembered the same feeling from decades ago when I had returned to Mumbai eighteen months after my first flight out to Washington DC.

Of course things were different then. Although I was pursuing my Ph.D, I was already married, with all the benefits and burdens that came along with that status. But I was happy to be in my mothers embrace in the small apartment which had always been home.

--

--

Ranjani Rao

I write insightful personal stories about my scientist, immigrant, travel life. 4 books http://bit.ly/RanjaniRao. Share memoir journey -www.ranjanirao.com